The Questions and Answers below assume that you were injured in a Nebraska accident caused by another person's negligence. The answers are not a substitute for the informed advice of an experienced injury attorney.
- Should you get medical treatment?
If you need medical treatment you should get it.
- How can you obtain medical treatment and pay for it?
We help you make good use of all available insurance. If you don't have health insurance, some doctors are willing to provide treatment and wait to be paid. I help reduce bills by negotiating with with medical providers and insurance companies.
- What happens if the at-fault vehicle is uninsured or underinsured?
Your injuries should be covered if you are insured. An injury attorney can advise you in this situation.
- Should you talk to an insurance adjuster?
You should think carefully before talking to any adjuster. If you anticipate needing to make an injury claim, it is a good idea to consult with an injury attorney first. I personally provide free initial telephone consultations.
- What can be done about your wrecked car?
If the at-fault vehicle was insured, the cost of repairs should be paid by their insurance and a rental car should be provided. If your car was a total loss, you should be paid the fair market value of the car. If the other vehicle was not insured or you have problems getting the other vehicle's insurance to pay, your own collision coverage could be used.
- Should you get a rental car?
Before renting a car, you need to have a clear agreement with the insurance company about what they will pay and for how long the rental is approved. Otherwise, you could be responsible to pay unexpected bills.
- Do you have a case?
If you were injured in an accident that was caused by another person's negligence you probably have a case. You can get a good idea about the strength of your case by having an injury attorney consider the circumstances of your accident and the nature of your injuries.
- What is an individual accident report? Do you need to fill one out?
Nebraska requires an individual accident report to be completed by each driver if there was over $1,000 of damage or if anyone was injured. The individual report must be submitted within 10 days of an accident.
- When should you hire a lawyer?
If you were injured in an accident caused by another person's negligence and your injuries were serious enough to require medical treatment, you should consider hiring a lawyer as soon as possible. I can help you make this decision in a free initial consultation.
- How can you pay for the services of an attorney?
The Montag Law Office works on a contingent fee basis. There is no up-front retainer fee and we only get paid if there is a recovery.
- Should you try to settle your injury case right away?
It can be a costly mistake to settle too quickly. It takes time to evaluate injuries and decide what medical treatment is required. If at all possible, medical treatment should be completed before accepting a settlement.